VIRTUAL CYCLING CLUB 10-MILE TT, 2019

OFFICIAL RESULT

This is the official result for our time trial event, held on the R10/22A course on May 14th 2019 and promoted for and on behalf of Cycling Time Trials under their rules and regulations.

MANY THANK YOUS

Thank you once again for supporting our event this evening – it was great to see you all. The results are now available from the CTT website and you'll find a link to them <u>here</u>. Most of you reported a tough headwind after the turn, which makes the results all the more impressive.

A few words about our prize winners on the night. From Severn Road Club, David Leighton took the "best improver" award as he lowered his personal best by 32 seconds. David told us that his previous best was set on the U7B course, which is familiar to a few of us. It's certainly not the quickest, so we might see him visiting our dual carriageways more often in future.

We had eleven veterans among the finishers, all of them substantially ahead of the age-based standard. This was a tightly contested award, but ultimately the prize went to Chris Massey (CES Sport) who beat the standard by an amazing 5m 46s.

Our overall winner on the night was Christopher Gibbard (Bynea Cycling Club) whose average speed exceeded 30mph as he finished with a time of 19m 56s. Superb.

Special mention also goes to Lee Perrott (Cycle Specific) whose new PB made him a contender in all three categories.

As a club we were formed in 2017 and we're still trying to give away our novelty prize of £20.17 to the first rider to clock a time of 20:17. The cheque has been written, we just need someone to claim it! Closest tonight was Philip Tucker, 2nd overall in the event and nine seconds shy of the magic result.

Thanks also to our timekeepers Alf Williams and Robin Field. Thanks again to the VCC members and their families who gave up their free time to provide a safe and welcoming event for everyone.

Good luck for the rest of your 2019 season - we'll see each other soon.

Simon Kinsey

FULL RESULT

FULL RESULT						
Pos'n	Name	Club	Category	Result	Vet. Std.	PB Gain
1	Christopher Gibbard	Bynea Cycling Club	Senior	19m 56s		
2	Philip Tucker	Cycle Specific	Senior	20m 26s		
3	Lee Perrott	Cycle Specific	Veteran	20m 29s	+ 5:33	15 sec
4	Chris Massey	CES Sport	Veteran	20m 45s	+ 5:46	
5	Leon Evans	Cardiff Ajax CC	Veteran	22m 14s	+ 4:13	
6	Steffan Roberts	Ystwyth CC	Veteran	22m 23s	+ 3:39	
7	David Brice	Bynea Cycling Club	Veteran	22m 29s	+ 4:53	
8	David Leighton	Severn Road Club	Veteran	22m 33s	+ 3:34	32 sec
9	James Phillips	Milford Tritons Cycling Club	Veteran	22m 59s	+ 3:41	
10	David Singleton	Acme Whs (Rhondda) CC	Veteran	23m 33s	+ 3:39	
11	Nigel Pitt	Bynea Cycling Club	Veteran	23m 49s	+ 3:44	
12	Andrew Clarke	North Shropshire Wheelers	Veteran	25m 11s	+ 2:22	
13	John Shehan	Bynea Cycling Club	Veteran	26m 02s	+ 3:30	
	Patrick Weir	Team Jewson - MI Racing ~Poly Pipe~McCann	Veteran	DNS		
	Nick Logan	Tenby Aces CC	Veteran	DNS		